BOARD OF EDUCATION

Amityville Union Free School District, Amityville, NY 11701 May 21, 2024 - Special Session Meeting

1. Meeting Called to Order

The meeting was called to order at 1:20 AM on May 22, 2024 by President Lisa Johnson at Northeast Elementary School.

IN ATTENDANCE: Ms. Lisa Johnson, President

(Trustees) Mrs. Jeannette Santos, 1st Vice President

Ms. Carol Seehof, 2nd Vice President

Mrs. Leslie Kretz, Trustee Mr. Juan Leon, Trustee

ABSENT: N/A

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Gina Talbert, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Joan Lange, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction Dr. Bridgette Waite, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

Ms. Olivia Buatsi, Assistant Superintendent for Finance &

Operations/Deputy District Clerk Mr. Carl Fraser, Consultant

Mrs. Melissa Durnin, District Clerk

A. Emergency Exit, No Smoking Statement

*In the unlikely event of an emergency, you need to note that exits are clearly marked. Take a moment to note the exit nearest to where you are seated. *Smoking is not allowed on school grounds. *As a courtesy, please turn off cell phones during the meeting. *

B. Pledge of Allegiance

President Johnson asked that everyone stand and recite the Pledge

2. Board Action Recommended by the Board of Education

- A. Board Action Recommended by the Board of Education
 - 1. RESULTS OF ANNUAL BUDGET VOTE AND TRUSTEE ELECTION

BOARD OF EDUCATION AMITYVILLE UFSD SPECIAL MEETING – MAY 21, 2024

ACTION AGENDA ITEM # 2C-1

RESOLUTION: DECLARING RESULTS OF ANNUAL BUDGET VOTE AND TRUSTEE ELECTION

WHEREAS, the Board of Education has received from the District Clerk, a written report of the results of the budget vote and trustee election at the annual meeting held on May 21, 2024.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Education upon tabulating the results of the ballots declare the result of the ballots to be as follows:

| PROPOSITION 1 | | |
|------------------|-----|--|
| 2024-2025 BUDGET | | |
| YES | NO | |
| 1051 | 698 | |

| PROPOSITION 2 | | |
|-----------------|-----|--|
| AT LARGE VOTING | | |
| YES | NO | |
| 1096 | 551 | |
| | | |

| A | Candidate | Ballot Votes | Absentee Ballots/Write In | Totals |
|----|------------------|--------------|------------------------------|--------|
| 1A | JEANNETTE SANTOS | 650 | 29/6 | 685 |
| 2A | MEGAN MESSMAN | 1050 | 41/7 | 1098 |

| В | Candidate | Ballot Votes | Absentee Ballots/Write In | Totals |
|----|------------------|--------------|------------------------------|--------|
| 2A | CAROLINE FANNING | 911 | 32/6 | 949 |
| 2B | JUAN LEON | 688 | 33/13 | 734 |

| С | Candidate | Ballot Votes | Absentee Ballots/Write In | Totals |
|----|----------------------|--------------|---------------------------------|--------|
| 3A | ANGELIQUE SHANNON | 528 | 23/8 | 559 |
| 3B | WENDY CANESTRO | 738 | 28/1 | 767 |
| 3C | JODIE RUNFOLA | 298 | 7/3 | 308 |

Motion to accept the results of the 2024-2025 Annual Budget Vote and Election

| Motion to Approve 1st | Motion to Approve 2nd |
|-----------------------|-----------------------|
| Carol Seehof | Leslie Kretz |

Motion **CARRIED YES: 5 | NO:** 0

 $\mathbf{R}_{\mathbf{W}}$

Melissa Durnin | District Clerk

Immediately following results, new Trustee Wendy Canestro was sworn in.

3. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the Special Meeting was made by President Lisa Johnson at 1:33pm

| Motion to Approve 1st | Motion to Approve 2nd |
|-----------------------|-----------------------|
| Leslie Kretz | Carol Seehof |

Motion **CARRIED YES: 6 | NO:** 0

Respectfully submitted,

Minutes recorded & transcribed by:

Melissa Durnin

District Clerk